Summer To-Do List


It’s pretty late and I’m listening to a Spanish song my friend Herbert showed me on Facebook and eating Perry’s Caramel Cup Craze Ice Cream. The last doesn’t sound too healthy… heh. ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyway, now for the true purpose of this post. Before finals week, I decided that the day right after finals, the first day of summer vacation, I would make a Summer To-Do list. That might help me feel like I’m planning out my time and using it wisely! Unfortunately, I think I was excitedly overreacting about how great it is that I can wake up at 10 and no one would care. So… I forgot about my list.

I remembered my idea just now. And what a happy coincidence! I have a blog now – I can blog my Summer To-Do List! Gee, I love the internet.

Without further delay, I will begin writing my list:

1. Write so much that my fingers fall off. Just kidding, I need them for violin. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But really, I am working on filling up my entire green 5 Subject notebook by the end of summer vacation (that doesn’t include what I write on the computer!). ย Actually, that’s not really fair. I filled in two subjects already in the past few weeks. I’ll get more notebooks then! ย That will be number two.

2. Buy more notebooks.

3. I’d love to learn photography this summer. I’ll need to somehow earn enough money to buy a camera more decent than the one I have at the moment. Then I’ll beg my parents for money to enroll in a photography course. If that doesn’t work, I’ll fake cry. If that doesn’t work, I’ll really cry. If that doesn’t work, maybe I could Google some online photography articles. THAT has to work.

4. Paint. Last semester in Studio Art 2, I painted for the first time. Before that, I was confined to drawing in charcoal or rubbing pastels. I heard one art teacher say that pastel lays the foundation for painting. Painting to me was a whole step above my level and I was satisfied of staying with my pastel friends. Then, for my art project, I could choose at least four different mediums. I could paint! With the freedom to choose came a spark of interest. During the project, despite frustrating moments, I fell in love with paints. Last week, I went to Michael’s and bought six tubes of paint and a Walter Foster book on Acrylic Painting. Then, as a gift for Father’s Day, I (attempted to) copy Vincent van Gogh’s The Starry Night and gave it to my Dad. The painting was a real failure (and Mr. van Gogh is crying in death) but I think my Dad was proud of me. And I learned so much from trying to recreate a masterpiece (emphasis on trying). It was like having a master class… almost. ๐Ÿ™‚

5. I need to read more books! During the school year, I had been so busy I barely read anything outside of schoolwork. I sloppily piled some books on the carpet floor of my study as a summer reading list. Here are some of the books: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, Guns, Germs, and Steel by Jared Diamond, Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad, Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, and The Graceful Lie by Michael Petracca. Hopefully I’ll be able to get through them this summer! I also finished the first book on my reading list a few days ago: The Rape of Nanking by Iris Chang.

6. I’m going to volunteer with some friends to tutor some elementary school kids. If you live in my area and are interested, ask me and I’ll give you the information!

7. I mentioned earlier in this post that I love the internet. I do, but receiving a handwritten letter feels better than seeing “You’ve Got Mail!” on your computer monitor. I’m sure you’ve heard a variation of that before – that technology is taking over our lives; phone conversations are a lost art, buried by texting. I’m going to skip the preaching and just tell you my plan for the summer. During my free time (ha, free time in summer), I will write some letters and snailmail them! Feel free to ask me if you’d like one (and if you don’t want to give me your address, that’s a problem)!

8. With more free time, I’d like to watch some more movies. I’d like to see more just for the fun and love of them because really, movies are pieces of art. I forget that sometimes. It would be nice to boost my Movie IQ too – memorize lines by heart and participate in movie discussions without feeling like a hermit – but I’m really looking toย enjoy the movies. After all, it is summer vacation! Any good recommendations?

9. Play violin more. A few years ago I really hated violin. I would only practice the day before a violin lesson and cram a few days before All-County or the NYSSMA (New York State School Music Association) auditions. I only began enjoying violin after I was able to play higher notes. Perhaps it was because my former violin teacher who was far from encouraging told me that at my level of playing, it would take years to be able to play in 7th or 8th position (in layman’s terms, really high on the fingerboard). Those words made violin dull for me. Getting better at music was a paradise I could not attain. Slowly and with two years of dreadful violin lessons, I got it! Two years. Not five or six. Not years like my teacher said.ย I still don’t know if my teacher only said that as a (failed) effort to get me practicing. Nevertheless, I became much more confident with my playing. With my newfound confidence, I enjoyed violin more and gave attention to it. Soon, I was able to find beauty behind the sore neck and fingers. This summer, I wish to find more beauty with my violin.

10. Practice tennis. Pre-season begins in two months! I’ll be getting ready at a Cornell University tennis camp (I heard they serve really good food! :D) for four days and in a local Junior USTA tennis team. As for the latter, the more the merrier/hairier/scarier (I wanted to avoid using aย clichรฉd idiom. Now, it just looks stupid…). ย If anyone is interested (and knows me and lives in my area, of course), please don’t hesitate to let me know and I will give you contact information. It’ll be fun if you join (unless you prey on teenage tennis players)!

That’s it!ย Of course, I’ll be doing much more with my summer (like eat and breathe), but those are ten things I will definitely keep in mind. Actually, it’s more like nine… number two isn’t that important. I didn’t even elaborate on it.

What are some of your to-dos for the summer?

I’d like to end this entry with a thank you for reading and a brilliant quote (that is distantly related to my post) by Mahatma Gandhi:

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Summer To-Do List

  1. Tiffany

    Hi!!!
    I absolutely love this!!!!!
    Hhahahaha herbert made it into your blog!!!
    And i like the quote. I try to live like that as well. But it doesnt work out sometimes….

    • Thanks Tiffany for your encouragement!

      Mmm, I agree. Sometimes I say, “Oh today is going to be a fabulous day! I’m going to enjoy myself and learn new things. Yeah!” And then five minutes later I find myself on Facebook…

  2. Uthsav

    Oh dang, you sure fill up a lot of notebooks ๐Ÿ˜›
    Where do you keep your paintings?

    Cornell has awesome food ๐Ÿ˜€

    Oh, and have you watched (500) days?

    • Thanks Uthsav! I try. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I just throw them around the house. Some are smacked on walls with tape and everything else is just on the floor. Heh…

      Oh yeah, your brother goes there! Have you tried the foods yourself? I think I’m more excited for the food than for the actual tennis. BLASPHEMY.

      No, I haven’t. Is it good? I’ll probably watch it over the summer.

  3. Fug Li

    Go to the dessert buffet. It’s like $5 or $7 or something for unlimited dessert. They have like tiramisu, creme brulee, panna cotta, and various other foreign sounding desserts. All delicious!

  4. Adeeba

    Hey Angie!
    Haha you happen to share a lot of the things I plan to do this summer. I always wanted to write actual letters. I’ve never actually done it before. I also wanted to start painting, I took a few painting classes years back and I haven’t really touched my paints since then haha. I should really pick it up again. I’m also teaching myself origami through youtube ๐Ÿ˜€

    I have a lot of TV to watch this summer haha. I’ve been so busy this year I never really got to watch all my favorite shows so I need to catch up with all of them. House, Lie to Me, and a few others. I have to finish watching Dexter before the new season starts and I have a list of shows that have been recommended to me that I need to watch too. I have a few movies I’m planning on watching that I heard were really good as well.

    What kind of movies are you into? I myself am a huge fan of psychological thrillers, those movies that like mess with your head, I love them! ๐Ÿ˜€ The Prestige, Memento, and The Illusionist are great psych thrillers. Ocean’s 11/12/13 and V for Vendetta aren’t psych thrillers, but they’re really great movies.

    I have a list of books I want to read too actually, didn’t get much time to read this year which makes me sad. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have the first volume of like this complete collection of Sherlock Holmes that I’m planning to read, I also wanted to read the last book in the Percy Jackson series, and start some new series.

    I got guitar for my birthday so I’m planning to take lessons this summer and reaallly practice. I really want to practice my flute too, but I have nothing to play! I should buy some sheet music or something.

    Hmm can’t think of anything else. And wow this comment was much longer than I expected… I always write too much.

    • Adeeba! Thank you for a long and beautiful comment!

      We should exchange snailmail! We’ll write the letters using ink and quills and store them forever in shoeboxes hidden in books like we decided before! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Oh definitely paint! We could have a painting party! I’ve never heard of something like that before so we’d be unique! By the way, I just realized that everything I’ve written so far ended with an exclamation point. I guess I was enthusiastic!

      Wow, I was just talking to someone this morning about origami. We discussed how written origami instructions are not helpful at all and video instructions are almost always the way to go. Have fun with your Youtube lessons! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Ah, yes I forgot about TV! I definitely have to catch up on some episodes. Dexter sounds good; I’ve heard of it before. Isn’t it about a serial killer who kills serial killers or something? I might watch that this summer. I was also thinking of catching up on episodes of Glee and finishing some seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

      I don’t really have a preference for a movie genre so any movie recommendations would be helpful! I’ve seen The Illusionist and I liked it. I’m going to check out Prestige, Momento, Ocean’s 11/12/13, and V for Vendetta. I’ll trust your taste in movies.

      Have fun with Sherlock Holmes! I love Sherlock Holmes even though I’ve only read a handful of the short stories. I should add that to my reading list! Are the Percy Jackson books good? I’ve heard so much about them and they sound kind of interesting.

      Wow, I’ve always wanted to learn to play guitar! Maybe since I have a foundation with violin, guitar would be relatively easier to learn? They’re both string instruments and have some similarities… Oh and I didn’t know you played flute! Are you in band?

      Haha no worries, I loved reading the comment!

      • Adeeba

        Anjie! Thank you for your even longer reply haha!

        Painting party, I’ve never heard of it myself. I’ve always wanted to paint on canvas. I think it would be so cool, because canvas paintings, I don’t know, they just seem so much more beautiful.

        Haha you were? What a coincidence. I should get some origami paper or something, cutting up paper is getting annoying. Haha I also saw some videos on how to make cool things out of duct tape.

        Yeah Dexter is about a psychopath (in the literal sense) who cannot stop himself from killing. His foster father raises him with like a set of rules and he only kills people who have committed horrible crimes but haven’t been punished.

        They’re great movies. By the way, Ocean’s 11/12/13 is 3 separate movies. Ocean’s 11, Ocean’s 12, and Ocean’s 13. I own all 3. ๐Ÿ˜€ The Pirate of the Caribbean and Lord of the Rings trilogies are amazing too, but you’ve probably seen those already.

        The Percy Jackson books are actually pretty great! The reading level is a bit lower, since its for 12-year olds, but they’re really fun. What I love about them is they’re based off of Greek mythology, and I feel like I’m learning so much about it while reading. I love the inside jokes that you’ll only get if you know the mythology behind them. You should read them! I have the 3rd and 4th books in the series if you’d like to.

        Hehe yeah, which is why guitar is proving difficult to learn on my own, since I’ve never played a string instrument.

        Harp was always my favorite instrument when I was younger, but I settled for flute which I loved second best. Yeah I am in band. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Thanks Adeeba for another long comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh canvas is so cool! I don’t often paint on that though. You know what would be cool? If my parents let me paint and draw on our walls… but of course, they wouldn’t. I don’t even have to ask. :\

    Speaking of origami paper, I just realized I have some glow-in-the-dark square origami paper! They are BEYOND awesome. I’ll get you some when I see you.

    That sounds like a great show! I’d like to watch Dexter over the summer!

    Mm… I love Greek mythology. I’ll check out Percy Jackson sometime. By the way, I just need to know: Do you like Harry Potter? I need to know that because your answer determines whether I will talk to you again or not. Only kidding! But I LOVE Harry Potter. And again, I digress.

    Nice! I’m in the dorkestra. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Adeeba

      I’ve never painted on canvas, but I’d love to! Haha me too! All the walls in my house are white. I want to paint them, I just think it’d be so fun. Yeah my parents would never let me draw on the walls.

      My cousin’s house, who I visited awhile ago, she’s married now, but in her old room, someone started this thing, where people leave messages on the wall. Like they’re writing on her wall (like on FB), except literally.

      I happen to absolutely LOVE Harry Potter. I used to be totally completely obsessed. Not as obsessed anymore, but I still love it.

      • Try it! It’s really fun. Yeah, the walls in my house are white too… what a waste. So much space that could be used for art. I don’t think I’d ever have to buy papers again. :\

        Okay, that is just BEYOND cool. I’d love to have messages on walls. And another thing about drawing/writing on walls is that your house will become a part of you and you can see how your art grows. Like, oh I drew this in 3rd grade and here is something I wrote when I was ready to go to college. But that might pose a problem because being a pack rat, I would find it difficult to move to a new house or sell it and see other people paint over my work.

        Hey, me too! That means I can still talk to you. Great! Haha, same here. I used to be OBSESSED. I honestly waited for my owl… and was sorely disappointed. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

